Skip to content

Someone finally asked: What are Obama’s dreams?

September 9, 2010

Dreams from My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance is the memoir of Barack Obama.  It was first published in 1995 as Mr. Obama prepared to launch his political career.  Following its re-publication in 2004, the book received high praise and the audio book edition even earned him a Grammy in 2006.  Many millions of copies were purchased.  But I’ve wondered for some time, did anybody read it?  I understand that many other books are bought, placed on shelves, and never once their spines are cracked.  Did I read it?  No.  I was hoping that someone else would take the time and then briefly answer the question:  what are the dreams from President Obama’s father?

Today, my dream was answered when I read acclaimed writer and speaker Dinesh D’Souza’s article titled “How Obama Thinks.”  Not knowing the content of the article, the title alone caught my attention.  Approximately 1/3 of the way into the article Mr. D’Souza writes this:

“Notice that his title is not Dreams of My Father but rather Dreams from My Father.  Obama isn’t writing about his father’s dreams;  he is writing about the dreams he received from his father.”

If you are presently one of the adoring and adulating believers in President Obama, I respectfully suggest that you owe it to yourself to read Mr. D’Souza’s article.  If your feelings are to the contrary, the piece may comfort you – like when you realize that your stalled car is due to some significant problem that is costly to repair; but at least you know what’s wrong.

One Comment
  1. Biggest Fan permalink
    September 9, 2010 9:05 pm

    The last line of D’Souza’s article really freaked me out. Not sure how I can find this article comforting though.

Comments are closed.

