Skip to content

Hugoville: Year One in Review

September 8, 2010

This week we celebrate the One Year Anniversary of the founding of Hugoville – A place for average competency at the optimum time.  It’s not a big celebration because that’s not our style, right?  However, we must find some comfort in the smallest of our daily (or annual) victories.  And that, my friends, is exactly where we started.

Secrets for Daily Victory was the maiden outreach on September 5, 2009.  In reflecting on those simple words today, I still hold them dear.  God knows (as does my family, friends, and strangers alike) that I am not a perfect practitioner of the principles advocated there.  But like a good dog – sometimes unpleasant to smell, uneasy to look upon, and unimaginably inappropriate at times – there I am, always trying and never giving up.

Later in September of 2009, I published a mathanalysis of civic duty, subliminally sandwiched between between two unrelated cartoons.  While the piece on civic responsibility started off a bit slow, it hit its stride at mid-point:

The following is a fact in my opinion.  Any government action will have one or more effects on you over time:  it will help you, it will harm you, or it will do nothing for you.

In October I planted some garlic, self-celebrated one-month of non-sense, and organized my first surprise board of governors meeting.  Then the spiral into healthcare reform hell began.  There were letters to Congress, conversations with Senators’ offices, and a fax to Congress … okay, there were two faxes.  Alas, October would not be the month after September without a sweet song and another poignant cartoon.

November was chilly as I pretend to recall.  The conversations with my congressional representatives started to sour;  so I started calling yours.  As turkey time neared my psychosis level of introspection deepened.  I pondered the current yet fictitious studies by the Association of Independent Hermits, the Western States Fancy Dog Sweater Consortium, and the Confederation of Old-Timey Carnival Games Enthusiasts.  The second week in November saw me stare down a mugger who I believe was after my cookies.  After exposing the exposure of federal government fraud, I was graced with one of the most insightful comments by a gentleman reader named Tim.  He wrote:

Knock, knock.

Who’s there?

Hugo.

Hugo who?

Hugo get me a politician, They’ve got some ‘splaining to do about this health care nonsense!

After the surreality of November I needed to be grounded in something tangible, something real and true … I took a trip to see Santa Claus and that’s all I could handle for the month.

2010 burst on the scene like an ornery cat picked from the field by a hungry eagle.  We rounded out January by taking a closer look at the sciences – mainly nanotechnology and man-made global warming.

February 2010 was a big month, led by a zero-word essay announcing the forthcoming Big Plan.  And, of course, there was more C-SPAN watching and I continued monitoring the progress of the coming 2010 Medical Law.

March of this year came in like a hemorrhoidal pig and went out like an incomplete Census questionnaire.

By April, I had enough.  I went dark and retreated further into myself.  I emerged in May, fresh as a stink bug and as feisty as a cabbage worm.

As May closed down, the Big Plan was taking shape.

I had a checkup with Dr. Utopia in June.

July was an excellent month as I was blessed with many insights.  The day before July 4th a companion reader to the Constitution was published here.  As the preamble stated, made available were “143 pages of good stuff.”  The content of the piece was courtesy of The Allan P. Kirby, Jr. Center for Constitutional Studies & Citizenship at Hillsdale College.   The dedicated Hugoville staff provided mild formatting enhancements to aid navigation and readability.  Then, the Big Plan archistructure was continued: “big, heavy, dirty, noisy poetry” and the Uni-Q™ was offered.  Still in July, I shared that there are only four types of problems in the world, despite what others may say.   And then, during the zenith of summertime, I put forth the essay of which I am most proud:  Anti-Americanism:  What does it look like (in America)? One night later, I was in despair but was rescued after reading an article by Angelo M. Codevilla, a Boston University professor, titled “America’s Ruling Class — And the Perils of Revolution“.

As we transitioned into August I remained focused on the rampant intellectualism plaguing us, buoyed only by the release of the 2009-2010 Being an American essay contest results.  We closed down August strongly;  first with the release of a new song and video celebrating the American value system and then by suffering through I-95 and Washington, D.C. traffic to hang out with several hundred thousand strangers on 8-28.

And here we are:  September 2010.  What’s next?  Don’t know.  But if you are a man, woman, or child of average competency, this may be the optimum time for you to be here.  Together lost, together finding our way.  Principles, Values, Compass, Province, Purpose.

One Comment
  1. Biggest Fan permalink
    September 8, 2010 1:57 pm

    Thank you for putting into words what my mind and heart thinks and feels. Keep it coming!

Comments are closed.

