Skip to content

The 14th Letter Word

July 20, 2010

Someone famous – actually, I think it was God – once said, “It’s not good for the man to be alone.”  How true.  My wife and kids needed a vacation from me and so I am a geographic bachelor this week.  You know what that means:  lurking bad habits come out to play.  I stay up way too late, eat things I shouldn’t, and go to sleep with the twenty four hour news channel on the television all night.

I went to sleep early this morning listening to the recent chatter about calls of racism from the NAACP towards the Tea Party movement, the twitter battle between NYC Mayor Bloomberg’s aid and Sarah Palin, and the recently-unearthed video from a NAACP event where a now-former USDA state director admitted not helping a Caucasian farmer because of his complexion.

I awoke early today.  While I watered the garden and cursed my yellow thumb, some poetry and prose sprung up in my mind.  Who am I to keep it to myself?

The 14th Letter Word

I don’t say the “n-word,” because I know it’s mean.

And when some meany says it, the world cries it’s the worst thing they’ve ever seen.

.

But you can say the S-word;  that’s “slavery” if you’re too obtuse.

Or “murder,” “oppression,” or “tyranny,” or “genocide” or “child abuse.”

.

But don’t you dare come close to citing the 14th letter word in this crazy world today.

But “anal rape of domesticated chickens,” to utter that is okay.

Some of you may be thinking, “Whoa, Hugo, that’s in really bad taste.”  Let me then trump your outrage by stating that I am an artist;  that makes it all alright.

2 Comments
  1. buckshot permalink
    July 20, 2010 10:34 pm

    Wife away? How many times has Hugo watched you snap one off this week?

    • Hugo permalink*
      July 21, 2010 12:33 am

      Having attracted you here, Buckshot, like a stink-eyed carp feeding where the walleyes poop, made me realize how uncomfortable I was with some of my verse. … You’re like the proverbial perverted canary in the coalmine, signaling when I’ve gone too far. Thank you. In response to your question …. no comment.

Comments are closed.

