Skip to content

Cerebral sabbatical

May 25, 2010

I have returned from my cerebral sabbatical.

cerebral [suh-ree-bruhl]:  characterized by the use of the intellect rather than intuition or instinct.

sabbatical [suh-bat-i-kuhl]:  any extended period of leave from one’s customary work, esp. for rest, to acquire new skills or training, etc.

A brief picto-journal of my new skills and training follows ….

.

I started by relaxing.

Then I hit the road.

And did some partying.

Learned some things about engines.

Old trick I picked up - Smell your brake lines. If they smell like zucchini, they're good.

Did some welding.

Logged some logs.

Spent some quality time with Shrubtundra.

Skinned some logs.

The picture above shows the scrap from one of my woodcrafting projects. That's scrap, I said. Can you imagine how good the finished product looks if the waste pieces look like this?

.

I whittled this letter opener from a twelve foot ash tree.

.

Fabricated this inside-the-closet shotgun mount. You're digging that, aren't you?

.

Learned myself some lathing.

And lathed away.

I turned this spoon out of a 32" diameter walnut tree and completed it with woodburned effects.

I practiced my knots and made this simple safety harness using a water knot and two half-hitches.

... and best of all, I spent some time with my lady.

I am rested and recharged.

