Skip to content

Mathematical Proof: America does not support this health care reform

March 10, 2010

Don’t worry;  there’s no heavy math here.  In fact, it is the absence of any math that is so telling.

Hypothesis:

The majority of Americans do not want this health care bill to become law.

Data/ Observations:

  • Both my senators and my congressman have voted for and remain in favor of the Health Care Reform (HCR) bill.
  • The president has actively campaigned for HCR for nearly a year, pleading on behalf of the “47 million” dieing uninsured, accusing doctors of severing limbs and extracting your children’s tonsils for their own personal gain, vilifying health insurance companies for their obscene profits and inhumane practices, encouraging folks to knock on their neighbor’s doors in support of HCR, and rallying people to call their congressmen and demand HCR.
  • The Congress for many months had sufficient votes to pass a HCR bill but did not.
  • From August of 2009 through February 2010, not one of my representative’s staff members has been able or willing to tell me the specific percentage of people who have contacted their offices in favor of (or in opposition to) this HCR legislation.

Experiment

I called my two senators and my congressman again today and asked them what percentage of people who contacted their office were in favor of  (or opposed to for that matter) this health care reform bill. The following snippets were offered by the representatives’ staff members:

  • Senator Bob Casey’s D.C. office:  “About 60% of all calls are in favor of health care reform.”  I asked the telephone attendant if that percentage was over a certain period, such as the last 30 days, or number of months, or since last July; she told me that was based on her “personal observations.”
  • Senator Arlen Specter’s D.C. office:  “We do not have that information.”  When I explored the logic I’ve outlined above with the telephone attendant, she replied, “You can assume whatever you want, sir.”  I politely told her that I did not want to assume and that is why I called her.
  • Senator Arlen Specter’s state capitol office:  “50/50 when considering honest calls;  you know, not the interest groups.”  … I failed to ask how he discerns an interested constituent from an interest group;  but that is on my call list for tomorrow.
  • Congressman Patrick Murphy’s local office:  “We don’t have that information locally.  I can call the Washington office and they will give you a response in 3 to 4 weeks.”  Calls to Rep. Murphy’s D.C. office went to voicemail.

Interpretations and Conclusion:

America does not want this HCR bill to pass.  In the absence of my representatives’ staff being able to readily communicate what percentage of the people that call their office support the health care bill, it is logical to conclude that there is, in fact, overwhelming opposition to passing this bill.  Especially at this moment – literally days away from when the president wants a final vote – it is dubious that not one of my representatives can say, “X% of my constituents who have registered their opinion support this health care reform bill.”

The lack of math just doesn’t add up.

3 Comments
  1. Kristi Nastars permalink
    March 11, 2010 9:27 pm

    Hugo-

    Just wanted you to know I just sent my Congressman and both Senators a plea to vote NO!! to HCR and start from scratch with things like portability and torte reform…you sir are an inspiration!!

  2. Probitee permalink
    March 12, 2010 10:24 pm

    The math

    may not add up but the arithmetic does; the Congressional

    Budget Office has just concluded, in a new report, that the

    arithmetic of reform will look better in its second decade than

    it did in its first.

  3. Tim permalink
    March 30, 2010 4:20 am

    I got another saying, “Fear not what you can do for your country, fear what your country can do for you.” Or, “Ask not what’s not to fear, ask what is the fear of nothing itself.” Seems brilliant at 4:19 am.

Comments are closed.

